Lawmakers Request Delay To Biden Impeachment Vote

( – Efforts to impeach President Joe Biden have been delayed after a June 22nd vote by the U.S. House of Representatives.

In a 219-208 vote, the House voted to move the resolution, which was offered by Colorado Rep. Lauren Boebert, to the House Homeland Security Committee. The move effectively paused a privileged motion being brought to the House floor which would have forced a vote on whether to impeach Biden. However, the referral vote means Democrats are unable to table the motion.

The articles of impeachment Boebert introduced were for one count of dereliction of duty as well as one count of abuse of power in regard to the southern border crisis.

The procedural move Boebert used would have forced an impeachment vote for Biden before the end of the week of June 23rd. Some House Republicans have voiced concerns over bypassing the committee processes to force votes on the House floor.

House Speaker and California Rep. Kevin McCarthy urged House Republicans to vote against the resolution saying to let the committee investigations play out before jumping to vote for impeachment.

After the impeachment resolution was moved to the committee, House Homeland Security Chairman and Tennessee Rep. Mark Green stated the committee will make Biden a focus of its current investigation into the southern border. The committee is investigating the administration’s handling of the southern border amid calls for the impeachment of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas. If Boebert believes the investigation is not moving quickly, she threatened she may force an impeachment vote for Biden.

This is not the first time Republicans in the House have sought to hold an impeachment vote for Biden. In May, Georgia Rep. Georgia Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, during a press conference, also introduced articles of impeachment, saying Biden is systematically trying to destroy the U.S. In 2021, she introduced articles of impeachment for his alleged involvement with Ukraine while he was vice president.

Copyright 2023,