Look Where FELONS Are Allowed To Vote!

In Which States Can Felons Vote?

In Which States Can Felons Vote?

(RepublicanNews.org) – The US Constitution grants every American the right to vote. However, many citizens with felony convictions lose that right. Here’s how each state handles felons and their rights to vote, just in time for the midterm elections.

Felons indefinitely lose their rights to vote in 11 states: Alabama, Arizona, Delaware, Iowa, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wyoming. Each of the states has its own set of requirements to allow convicts to vote again. Some areas require a governor’s pardon to restore their suffrage rights, while others only revoke voting rights for certain felonies.

In 21 states, felons lose all their voting rights as long as they’re incarcerated, but the right is automatically restored upon their release. Some that follow this policy are as follows:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Washington

In Maryland, any conviction regarding the buying or selling of votes can only be restored through a governor’s pardon. In Vermont, Maine, and Washington, D.C., felons never lose their rights to vote. Meanwhile, in the remaining 16 states, convicts have their suffrage rights restored after they complete their sentences, which include any probation or parole. The National Conference of State Legislatures has an entire list of the states and how they handle felons voting.

Keep in mind that “restored” doesn’t mean these people can immediately exercise their rights. They still have to register to vote before casting any ballots.

Copyright 2022, RepublicanNews.org